Add a Shared Mailbox to Microsoft Outlook 2016

Microsoft Outlook can handle multiple mailboxes. When you are a member of a shared mailbox group, you can add this mailbox to your Outlook account to view both your individual email and the group email.

For Mac instructions, scroll down or click here.

For Windows instructions, scroll down or click here.

Add a Shared Mailbox to Microsoft Outlook 2016 - Mac

  1. Open the Outlook application.
  2. Select Tools > Accounts... in the Outlook main menu.
  3. On the Accounts dialog box, click on the Advanced... button in the lower right corner.
  4. Click on the Delegates tab.
  5. Just below the Open these additional mailboxes box (the lower of the two boxes):
    • Click on the + button to add a new account.
    • On the Choose a Person dialog box, type in the name of the shared mailbox, select the account in the list, then click on the Add button.
  6. Click on the OK button in the lower right corner.
  7. Close the Accounts dialog box.
  8. If you see the Outlook was redirected to the server autodiscover... dialog box:
    • Click on the Always use my response for this server check box.
    • Click on the Allow button.
  9. After a short period of time, the new shared mailbox will appear as a folder in the Accounts list on the left side of your Outlook window.

Add a Shared Mailbox to Microsoft Outlook 2016 - Windows

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click on File in the Outlook menu bar.
  3. Click on the Account Settings box (just to the left of your photo).
  4. Click on Account Settings... in the drop-down list.
  5. On the Account Settings dialog box, double-click on your email address in the Name column.
  6. On the Change Account dialog box, click on the More Settings button in the lower right corner.
  7. On the Microsoft Exchange dialog box, click on the Advanced tab.
  8. In the Advanced tab, click on the Add... button.
  9. In the Add mailbox field, type the name of the shared mailbox and click on the OK button.
  10. Back on the Microsoft Exchange dialog box, click on the Apply button in the lower right corner.
  11. Click on the OK button.
  12. Back on the Change Account dialog box, click on the Next button.
  13. Click on the Finish button.
  14. Back on the Account Settings dialog box, click on the Close button.
Request Help