Some groups in RapidIdentity are created and maintained automatically from data in Banner or Oracle. The membership of these groups is based on the values in certain attributes on user accounts in RapidIdentity. These groups all have LDAP filters on the Dynamic tab on the groups' details. They may also have static "includes" and/or "excludes" on the Static tab. These groups include:
- Course Groups
- Major/Minor Groups
- Org Groups
- Groups that start with "ia_" such as ia_students
- HRU/MRU/LRU Automatic groups
- KW and NKW
Other groups are purpose built to manage SSO access to specific applications. These groups can be managed by application owners outside of T&I. If you are a membership manager of one of these groups, follow the instructions below to manage the membership of your group.
Adding or Removing Members
Please note that there can be a delay of up to 30 minutes before group membership changes are synchronized across systems. If you are adding/removing members to/from an email group, please wait at least 30 minutes after making changes before sending email to the group.
- Login to RapidIdentity at identity.davidson.edu
- You will automatically land on the People module. Click the dropdown and select Groups.
- Groups for which you are a membership manager show under My Groups.
- Select the group you wish to manage, click the 3-vertical dots > select Details.
- From the Group Details pane, select the Static tab. Click the + button next to Add Static Include to add someone to the group. To remove an existing member, click the X next to their name. When done, click Save > Save and Sync. If you don't choose Save and Sync, the group membership will not be updated until the automatic synchronization process runs overnight.
- The Add Static Exclude button can be used to exclude a user, but that option isn’t necessary unless you are using a dynamic group and need to exclude a particular person that is being included by the dynamic filter.
- To view the membership of the group, go back to the Group Details and on any of the tabs, select the Members button at the bottom. On the Members tab, you will see the current members. Add Pending and Remove Pending will show any changes that have not synced (if you added or removed members and didn’t click Save and Sync, they will show here).