LastPass Features Explained

LastPass is a password manager that will remember all your passwords, come up with secure and encrypted passwords, as well as stores all your important information. A password manager helps its users be cyber secure by keeping their passwords and various information safe and secure.

Once in logged into your LastPass account, there is an option that appears that will “show you around”. Below are description of what each function on the menu, and how you can use these functions. 

  1. Passwords: This is where you will save your passwords for each individual site you choose. When logging into an account, LastPass will remember your password for the future. When creating new accounts, LastPass will suggest a password (very secure) for you to use. It will remember the password every time you log into that site.  The list of sites accompanied by passwords you save onto LastPass will show up in the passwords tab on the menu.
  2. Notes: you can create notes on this page about a range of different items including passwords, bank accounts, insurance policies, addresses, etc. Just go to the red plus sign in a circle at the bottom right to add a note.

  3. Addresses: This tab will remember addresses you may put in, including home, work, etc. This is useful when filling out forms that require you to enter your address, LastPass will autofill it for you.

  4. Payment Cards: Similar to Addresses, this tab will remember your credit card numbers and autofill it when entering credit card information.

  5. Bank Account: Similar to Payment Cards, this tab will remember your bank account numbers and information, and autofill it when entering banking information.

  6. Security Challenge: This tab will assess how secure you are based off your master password, various passwords on different websites, similar passwords to your master password on different websites, and other categories. It will then suggest different things to improve your security score.

  7. Sharing Center: You can share your passwords or notes with others. We don’t suggest doing this unless extreme circumstances.

  8. Emergency Access: Grants a trusted outside user access to your account for 48 hours (default) if you set the outside user up as your emergency contact. Again, we don’t suggest this unless extreme circumstances.  

  9. Account Settings: This tab will bring you to your account information in which you can change master password.
Request Help